Dirt Worshipping Tree Hugger

Sharing the daily life of Sunsong with interested parties.

Tuesday: Where’s my bed? November 18, 2008

Filed under: General — Sunsong Braun @ 9:28 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

If this top part looks too boring to read, fine. At least scroll down and watch the video!!

Well, we’re on a new schedule around here, and I like it, but I hate it too. I’ve started waking up with Brian at 6am. The plan was for Evan to sleep in and wake up from 7-8, but no luck today, because we put him to bed too early last night. I wanted to put him to sleep around 7, but Brian felt that he was too tired last night and we started at 5:40. TOO EARLY! As if that wasn’t enough, Lillith was either up crying or nursing all night, and I had to get up at 5 to change her diaper, so I got little sleep, and what I did get was in an uncomfortable position. I am SO tired! ARGH.

So today the plan is for Brian to come home at 4:30, and then I’m taking the kids to go visit my moms’ mom to see how she’s doing. I’m going to get dinner ready during the day today so that it will be ready when we get home, around 6 ish. We eat, and then Evan goes to bed around 7:00 – 7:30, depending on how late we get home. Cross your fingers that he’ll sleep easy and sleep in tomorrow. Especially since he woke up at 6 with us this morning.

We got a new battery for the car on Thursday, and it’s running better. Brian gets his holiday bonus check next week, and we’re trying to buy a new bed with some of it. I hope a bigger bed will make it easier to sleep without having to wedge myself between two kids, afraid of moving for fear of waking them up and having to start all over.

I’m not sure what we’re going to do about Thanksgiving. I really wanted to have it here, since my mom isn’t around. I figure that it’s time it was passed down to me. I don’t think it’s going to happen though. Brians’ brothers are both going out of town. My step-dad is going to his girlfriends’ house with her family. That only leaves Brian and I, the kids, and Brians’ mom and Granny. Since Brians’ mom, Eva, finally has her own place, I’m sure she wants to have it there, so they probably won’t come. And my Grandmother passing down her mantle is out of the question. Even if she did it would go to her daughter, my aunt Susie, not me. So we’re probably having Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday, THE family holiday, alone. Either that or we’re going to two Thanksgivings, and I’ve got a 15 lb turkey in the freezer for no reason.

I remember after my cousin Kathryn was born, my aunt Susie got a picture of the two of them, plus my Grandma and her mom together. It’s called the Four-Generation photo, or Four Generations of Women. I thought it was silly at the time, but after we started having kids, I thought it would be cool to do it too. How twisted is it that my mother died just five months too soon? When I look at Lilli and am amazed by how much she looks like me, it makes me wonder how my mother would react to her. I’ll bet it would be strange to have a baby wandering around who looks like your 25 year old baby, so exactly that it’s kinda creepy. Oh god, I miss my mother so MUCH! It is indescribable.

DAD! START READING HERE!>> On a happier note, although it seems to make me cry lately, Evan and I love this song, and I think everyone should get a copy of it. It’s probably the best song I’ve heard in a very long time. The band is called The Roots, and the song is Love my Family. We watch a lot of Noggin around here and one of the shows is called “Yo Gabba Gabba”. Brian doesn’t like it, but I think the show is great. Very original, and lots of fun. Anyway, that’s where the song is from, the show. So all those alien-looking things dancing around and the two people dressed in orange are characters from the show. It’s a little odd that the one guy is playing the bongos with drumsticks, but I guess whatever you’ve got to do to get the right sound. I just love this song, though. I could listen to it over and over. I think it has a wonderfully positive message, and it describes how I feel. I hope Evan remembers it as he grows up.

EDIT: the original video has been removed, so I have replaced it with the only other copy I could find.

We are thankful, for our family. Let’s be thankful for the things we love. Indeed.

 

One Response to “Tuesday: Where’s my bed?”

  1. Kurt Says:

    Cute song. Sean tried to tell me about Yo Gabba Gabba. Now I have personal experience.


Leave a Reply

