Dirt Worshipping Tree Hugger

Sharing the daily life of Sunsong with interested parties.

Thursday: Inspired, yet scared November 20, 2008

Filed under: General — Sunsong Braun @ 12:10 pm

I’ve been thinking about what I want to do with my life after the kids are grown. I was so naive when I went to college. I wanted to be an obstetrician. I’m so glad I didn’t follow through.

Since I had Evan I was determined I wanted to be a midwife, I’d love nothing more. I’ve been looking into it, and decided I’d be equally happy with being a doula or lactation consultant. Being that my life it pretty busy right now, I think the easiest thing to start with would be being a doula. It’s doesn’t look to be as complicated as I thought. Just now I was looking at what it would take to get started, and wishing my mother was here to cheer me on. I just want her to be here and tell me “You can do it!” or “Go for it!” like I know she would. I want so badly to just dive in and do it, to take the leap of faith and get started, I just wish someone would encourage me, like my mother.

I’m going to do it anyway. I have to start saving money for the membership and certification fees, and buy some books that are part of the required reading. Then I just hope like hell I can come up with the money for the training next spring. And that will be the big part. If I work hard and get lucky for the tuition, I can be a doula by next March. WOW. All I’ll need for certification after that is three attended labors as a doula, and good evaluations from the parents, doctor/midwife, and a nurse at said labors.

I’m so excited I could cry. I probably will.

Even if I kept my clients to one birth a month, I could be getting some pretty good income doing something I would absolutely love, and be great at. It feels so amazing to recognize my calling, something I am truly designed and inspired to do. Now I’ve just got to start answering the door.

 

Leave a Reply

