Dirt Worshipping Tree Hugger

Sharing the daily life of Sunsong with interested parties.

The survey is done! August 16, 2009

***UPDATE***

In the 24 hours since the survey was opened, we’ve had 34 respondents. The survey will remain open for at least a couple of more days, depending on the turn out. I’d like a minimum of 50 responses, but will close it early if it takes more than a week.
Quick stats (but keep in mind that this is not a scientific survey and the vast majority of surveys were solicited from a natural family living community.)

One set of twins.
78% enter into labor or are induced between 38 and 41 weeks
65% IV use, 35% no IV (those who had heplock or no IV until c-section or Epidural are counted as “no”)
35% monitored continuously by belts, 15% internal, only participant without monitoring was c-section before labor.

6% c-section before labor, 24% induction rate,
One cytotec induction, 44% of inductions were with pitocin only, 33% with cervidil followed by pitocin
43% augmentation with pitocin (this includes inductions)
43% of pitocin recipients were started at 3-4 cm, only one received pitocin after 8 cm but before birth.
56% reported pain of 3 or less before pitocin (scale 1-10) 19% reported pain of 3 or less after pitocin. 64% report pain of 7 or more after pitocin. (this includes those who received an epidural with pitocin)
40% epidural use. (those who received spinal right before c-section are not counted)
3% received other chemical pain relief, but not an epidural.
44% of epidural recipients got it after receiving pitocin

31% labored in bed,   57% had a doula,   43% used a birthball
74% pushed while reclining or on the back,  10% while squatting (the survey failed to account for pushing while standing, kneeling, and side-lying positions. In addition, some participants did not push because of cesarean, and some women pushed but also had cesareans.)
34% did not tear, 44% tore, 16% episiotomy. 62% were 2nd degree
one vaccum extraction
seven cases of fetal distress, three of  shoulder dystocia
18% cesarean rate
76% report no pressure to perform a c-section
one court-ordered cesarean
one stillbirth (that was noted, there was no question about fetal outcome on the form)
three labors > 40 hours

At some point this week I’ll get started on Birth Survey II and correct the construction flaws, but that one is going to take me more then a couple of hours.

>>>>Labor and Delivery  Survey<<<<

Everyone jump in, the more the better! Please let me know if anything is missing. Elaborate as much as possible.

ETA: Well, thinking about this survey kept me up nearly all night. I realized that I needed to make a note here that the survey is designed and intended to analyze hospital births. In addition, I realise now that the survey is woefully incomplete. I failed to include any questions about maternal-fetal morbidity or mortality, amniotomy, multiple births progress and results, and plenty of other things that came to me last night that I now can’t remember. Please keep in mind I created the survey all in one sitting, over the course of a couple of hours, while also trying to get my kids to sleep, and it was pretty late too. Please allow me some mistakes. Needless to say, I believe there will be a “Birth Experiences Survey II” at some point in the future.  I’d like a few results of the current survey to help give me ideas as to what other parts of the puzzle I may be missing.

 

One Response to “The survey is done!”

  1. Trisha Says:

    well, here goes, I fell in the bathtub when I was about 8 months pregnant with Dana and when I went in to get checked they didn’t do a vaginal check on me so my water could have broken in the tub and they didn’t know. I went in two days later having braxton hicks and they finally checked me then. when the time came, I was dialated a 2 for 2 or 3 days I can’t remember exactly and my mother and grandmother came from Texas to North Carolina to be there when she was born. Mom and Meme walked me the day before she was born all over the place to help me get ready. The next morning I went into the bathroom and felt a snap and a very small trickle. Mom said my water had broke. When we went into the Naval Hospital (we were stationed at Camp LeJeune…ironically it’s the same place your brother was stationed at when I met him 8 years later) they put me on a fetal monitor and since I was two days over my due date they said they were going to give me pitocin to induce. They hooked me up and away we went…this was around 4am. At one point my contractions were coming one after another with around a minute break inbetween and I was still only dialated a 5. They gave me demerol for the pain so I could get a little bit of a break inbetween contractions. They almost missed the window of opportunity for the epidural because when they checked me again after my pastor had left I was almost dialated too far. They gave me the epidural and as soon as that was in they had me start pushing. Until this point even with the contractions so hard that they were off of the charts and coming one after another I wasn’t screaming. Everytime I would have a contraction I would put my face in my mothers stomach and try to think about something else. One of the nurses said I shouldn’t do that because I was trying to escape from reality. I do not have anything good to say about the L&D ward at the naval hospital. When it came time to push they didn’t even put me in stirrups. I had a nurse that told me I had to hold my own legs. I had been in labor since 4am…and I pushed for 2 hours (yes I said 2 hours) before she came out. My mother and Henry (Dana’s father) were in the room with me and each held a leg so I didn’t have to. The nurse that told me to hold my legs was pushy and harsh and tugging on my legs and stuff. Dana was stuck because of the pitocin making her come out too fast. They told me they wanted to put a suction cup on her head and I said no way. I had seen a show on tv a week earlier about how babies were being born with brain injuries from that. she finally decided to come out at 6:30pm. (super bowl sunday at kickoff…) When she came out her umbilical chord was so short they had to cut it to get her out completely. They also said that her placenta was smaller than normal. I believe that was a genetic defect. Mine was the same way when I was born. I’m very glad I won’t have to have another child in a military hospital. Every person that I know that have had babies in a civilian hospital haven’t had the problems that I have. On another note, I do believe that the epidural is where my back problems stem from.


Leave a Reply

